Who won the football World Cup in 1990?

Which country won the World Cup in Rome 1990?

The game took place on 8 July 1990 at the Stadio Olimpico in Italy’s capital and largest city, Rome, and was won 1–0 by West Germany, with a late penalty kick taken by Andreas Brehme being the game’s only goal. The match marked several firsts in World Cup history.

Who did Germany beat in 1990 World Cup?

Watch highlights as West Germany gain revenge on Argentina with a 1-0 win in the 1990 World Cup final at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome. The only goal of the game came five minutes before full-time, with Andreas Brehme coolly slotting home from the penalty spot.

Who won the football World Cup in 1994?

The 1990 FIBA World Championship was the 11th FIBA World Championship, the international basketball world championship for men’s teams. It was hosted by Argentina from August 8 to 19, 1990.

Who won 1998 WC?

World Cup 1990 – England v Germany: England lose on penalties. England lose the decisive penalty shoot-out 4-3 against West Germany in the World Cup semi-final.

THIS IS EXCITING:  Question: What's the farthest football throw?

How many Arab countries were in World Cup 1990?

4 Arab teams in the World Cup For the first time in history – EgyptToday.

How many Arab countries played in the World Cup 1990?

24 teams qualified for the 1990 FIFA World Cup. Costa Rica, Republic of Ireland and the United Arab Emirates qualified for the first time.


Team South Korea
Qualified as AFC Final Round Winners
Appearance in finals 3rd
Qualifying Streak 2
Past best performance Group Stage (1954, 1986)

Has Ireland ever won the World Cup?

Ireland hold the record for getting furthest in the tournament without winning a match. … Their first appearance was in Italy at the 1990 FIFA World Cup.

Who won the soccer World Cup in 1992?

For the 13th time, a European champion was crowned on Sunday. France knocked off Croatia, 4-2, in the final to capture its second World Cup title and its first since 1998. It was a historic day for Les Bleus.

Who won 1992 FIFA World Cup?

Defensive tactics led to the introduction of the back-pass rule in 1992 and three points for a win instead of two at future World Cups.

1990 FIFA World Cup.

Coppa del Mondo Italia ’90
Champions West Germany (3rd title)
Runners-up Argentina
Third place Italy
Fourth place England

Who won the 2002 World Cup?

30 July 1966

The 1960s were a jubilant and confident time for English popular culture: England beating West Germany 4–2 at home to win the football World Cup was a particular highlight.

Who won the World Cup 1982?

Italy became world champions for the third time in 1982, their triumph on Spanish soil made memorable by the scoring feats of six-goal striker Paolo Rossi and an iconic celebration by Marco Tardelli.

THIS IS EXCITING:  What age do scouts look at football players?

When did Italy win the World Cup?

World Cup History

Year Host Champion
1994 United States Brazil
1990 Italy West Germany
1986 Mexico Argentina
1982 Spain Italy